Pinterest – What is it and Why Would I Do It?

What is Pinterest?  If you have a woman in your life, chances are you are hearing the word Pinterest.  So what is Pinterest?

First of all,  it was named New Startup of 2011 at the 2011 Crunchie Awards, one of the most important technology awards events, that recognize the contribution of innovative entrepreneurs and online startups. The event is hosted by three of the leading tech blogs online – GigaOm, VentureBeat, and TechCrunch.

Okay, so it has credibility with three big tech names and the ladies in my life are addicted, but that still doesn’t tell me what Pinterest is.

Pinterest is a Virtual Pinboard.

Pinterest lets you organize and share all the beautiful things you find on the web. People use pinboards to plan their weddings, decorate their homes, and organize their favorite recipes.  That’s from the official pinterest.com website but it can also be anything that’s of interest to you, that you want to combine together in one place and remember and share it. Best of all, you can browse pinboards created by other people. Browsing pinboards is a fun way to discover new things and get inspiration from people who share your interests.

For a guy, it might be pictures of “fish that I’ve caught around the world” or for the golfer – “Courses I want to play”.  Okay, that’s what my sons boards would be if he had Pinterest.  It can also be collections of any type of hobby you want to share.  I made a board of cats that our children have brought home against my will and another of my flower gardens from last year.

For business, I made a board of our Florida Beachfront Vacation Rental and also a board of products I like, which includes the zBoost SOHO and the Amazon Kindle Fire.

Whatever your interest, you will find it at Pinterest.com.  The only delay is you have to fill out an application and then be invited to join.  It took me about a week over the holidays to get my invitation.  Not sure how long the wait is now or if there even is a wait.

Here is a link to a YouTube video showing the ins and outs of using Pinterest.  I would recommend watching this.  I learned two new tips that will be very helpful going forward.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vQP2dBMoCQ0&feature=related

Please share what boards you are creating for Pinterest.

Leave a comment